Top 20 Safest Airlines for 2021… – : Newsflight :
Airline , January 20,2021

Share post
  • 1

The world’s airline safety, and product rating website, AirlineRatings has listed top Twenty “Safest Airlines 2021” from the 385 different airlines it monitors.

The website released its yearly list of the top 20 safest airlines on Monday and said “these airlines are standouts in the industry and are at the forefront of safety, innovation, and launching of new aircraft.”.. “For instance, Australia’s Qantas has been recognized by the British Advertising Standards Association in a test case as the world’s most experienced airline,”

Australian carrier “Qantas” tops the list

The Top 20 Safest Airline for 2021:

1. Qantas,

2. Qatar Airways,

3. Air New Zealand,

4. Singapore Airlines,

5. Emirates,

6. EVA Air,

7. Etihad Airways,

8. Alaska Airlines,

9. Cathay Pacific Airways,

10. British Airways,

11. Virgin Australia/Virgin Atlantic,

12. Hawaiian Airlines,

13. Southwest Airlines,

14. Delta Air Lines,

15. American Airlines,

16. SAS,

17. Finnair,

18. Lufthansa,

19. KLM, and

20. United Airlines.

The AirlineRating narrow the list based on “the safety rating for each airline is based on a comprehensive analysis of crash and pilot related serious incident data combined with audits from the world’s aviation governing body ICAO and leading association, IATA, along with the latest COVID-19 compliance data. Each airline has the potential to earn seven stars.

Three stars are deleted from the rating if the airline has had any fatalities to passengers or crew in the prior 10 years. It is Airline Ratings view that it takes up to 10 years for an airline’s safety culture to change after an accident. It can also take up to 10 years for the airline to replace older aircraft types, upgrade avionics or systems that may have contributed to the accident.

A fatality is deemed as the death of crew and /or passengers whilst on board the aircraft due to an accident. If deaths occurred through acts of terrorism, high jackings OR pilot suicide they have not been included. Nor if the death is not attributable to the airline (faulty manufactured part).

If an airline suffered a fatal accident through no fault of its own such as a runway incursion on the active runway (an incident where an unauthorized aircraft, vehicle or person is on a runway) this has also not been included.”

Has the airline suffered numerous serious pilot related incidents?

If no, two stars are awarded and if yes one or no stars are awarded. has analysed over 11,000 serious incidents over the past five years and looked at trends such as runway overruns to arrive at our ratings.

Has the airline and its country of origin passed all the major audits?

We look at the IOSA audit, ICAO country audit, EU and FAA bans. If the airline or its country of origin passes all these audits then one-star is awarded.

If there are any failures the star is removed. The exception is IOSA, and if any airline has not done the audit but has not had a fatal crash in 20-years, a star is awarded. (See details of audits below)

Is the airline complying with international COVID-19 standards?

To be awarded one-star, an airline must have at least four out of six criteria in place. They are: COVID-19 information on website; social distancing on boarding and on the plane for the boarding and de-planning process; deep clean of aircraft every night; providing face masks; cabin crew wearing face masks; and change in meal service. This information is derived from the airlines’ websites.

AUDIT details

The IATA* Operational Safety Audit (IOSA) certification audit is an internationally recognized and accepted evaluation system designed to assess the operational management and control systems of an airline. IOSA uses internationally recognized audit principles and is designed to conduct audits in a standardized and consistent manner. Airlines are re-evaluated every two years. Registering for IOSA certification and auditing is not mandatory therefore an airline that does not have IOSA certification may have either failed the IOSA audit or alternatively chosen not to participate.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Latest News

Download Our AeroChapter App Now!

Copyright © 2019 News in Flight | All Rights Reserved